UPPCC Governing Board Members

The responsibility of the UPPCC Governing Board is to establish policy and procedures and provide overall governance of the CPPO and CPPB certification programs. The Governing Board is composed of 6 voting members; 3 elected members from NIGP and 3 appointed members from NASPO. 

Additional non-voting, advisory members comprise the Governing Board. Non-voting, advisory members include 1 individual representing the Canadian Federal Government, 1 individual representing the U.S. Federal Government, the current chief executive officers of NIGP and NASPO, academicians and any other members appointed by the chair as needed.

UPPCC Governing Board members serve three-year terms and can serve a maximum of 3 consecutive terms. If you are currently certified as a Certified Public Procurement Officer (CPPO) and want to review Governing Board member qualifications, please review the UPPCC Governing Board Position Description and the UPPCC Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Statement for an in-depth description of this rewarding volunteer role and its various responsibilities. 

If you meet the qualifications and are sincerely passionate about promoting and enhancing your profession, please contact the current UPPCC Governing Board Chairman or the chief executive officer of either NIGP or NASPO for information on the organizations election and/or appointment process.

2017 UPPCC Governing Board Members


Marcheta Gillespie, CPPO, CPPB, C.P.M., CPM
Director of Procurement
City of Tucson
E-mail: marcheta.gillespie@tucsonaz.gov
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as Chair: 2017 - 2019 
Serving 1st Term as Member: 2016 - 2017

Vice Chair

Robert Gleason, CPPO
Director, Virginia Division of Purchases & Supply
Virginia Department of General Services
E-mail: robert.gleason@dgs.virginia.gov
Representing: NASPO
Serving 1st Term as Vice Chair: 2017 - 2019
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2017 - 2019


Paul Brennan, CPPO
Director of Purchasing
County of Rockland
E-mail: brennanp@co.rockland.ny.us
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as Secretary/Treasurer: 4/2016 - 2018 
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2016 - 2018


Don Buffum, CPPO
Director of Procurement and Contracts
Mississippi State University
E-mail: dbuffum@procurement.msstate.edu
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 10/2016 - 2019

Kelly Sanders, CPPO, CPPB
Chief Procurement Officer
Department of Administrative Services, Office of Procurement Services
E-mail: kelly.sanders@das.ohio.gov 
Representing: NASPO 
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2016 - 2018

Rick Hughes, CPPO
Director of the Bureau of Procurements
State of Wisconsin, Department of Administration
E-mail: rick.hughes@wisconsin.gov 
Representing: NASPO 
Serving 2nd Term as a Member: 2016 - 2017

Advisory Non-Voting Members

Representing: Canadian Federal Government

Representing: US Federal Government 

Kathleen Muretti, CPPO, CPPB, CPCP
Manager of Accounts Payable, Fleet, Procurement, Waste & Recycling
City of Airdrie 
E-mail: kathleen.muretti@airdrie.ca
Serving as an Advisory Member Since: 2015

Clifford McCue, Ph.D. 
Associate Director 
Public Procurement Research Center-Florida Atlantic University
E-mail: cmccue143@gmail.com
Serving as an Advisory Member Since: 5/2017

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members

Rick Grimm, CPPO, CPPB
Chief Executive Officer
National Institute of Governmental Purchasing, Inc.
E-mail: rgrimm@nigp.org 
Representing: NIGP

DeLaine Bender, CAE
Executive Director
National Association of State Procurement Officials
E-mail: dbender@naspo.org  
Representing: NASPO