UPPCC Board of Directors

The responsibility of the UPPCC Board of Directors is to establish policy and procedures and provide overall governance of the CPPO and CPPB certification programs. The Board of Directors is composed of 8 voting directors; 3 appointed by NIGP, 3 appointed by NASPO, and 2 elected by the UPPCC Board of Directors. 

Additional non-voting, advisory members comprise the Board of Directors. Non-voting, advisory members include the current chief executive officers of NIGP and NASPO, academicians and any other members that are appointed by the Board of Directors Chair as needed.

Directors serve three-year terms and can serve a maximum of 3 consecutive terms. If you are currently certified as a Certified Public Procurement Officer (CPPO) and want to review Board of Directors member qualifications, please review the UPPCC Board of Directors Position Description and the UPPCC Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Statement for an in-depth description of this rewarding volunteer role and its various responsibilities. 

If you meet the qualifications and are sincerely passionate about promoting and enhancing your profession, please contact the current UPPCC Board of Directors Chair or the chief executive officer of either NIGP or NASPO for information on the organizations appointment process.

2018 UPPCC Board of Directors

Chair

Kathleen Muretti, CPPO, CPPB, CPCP
Manager of Accounts Payable, Fleet, Procurement, Waste & Recycling
City of Airdrie 
E-mail: kathleen.muretti@airdrie.ca
Representing: Canadian Public Procurement
Serving 1st Term as Chair: 7/2018 - 2019 
Serving 1st Term as Member: 6/2017

Vice Chair

Robert Gleason, CPPO
Senior Procurement Director
State of Maryland
E-mail: robert.gleason@maryland.gov
Representing: NASPO
Serving 1st Term as Vice Chair: 2017 - 2019
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2017 - 2019

Secretary/Treasurer  

Paul Brennan, CPPO
Director of Purchasing
County of Rockland
E-mail: brennanp@co.rockland.ny.us
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as Secretary/Treasurer: 4/2016 - 2019 
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2016 - 2018

Directors

Don Buffum, CPPO
Director of Procurement and Contracts
Mississippi State University
E-mail: dbuffum@procurement.msstate.edu
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 10/2016 - 2019

Kelly Sanders, CPPO, CPPB
Chief Procurement Officer
Department of Administrative Services, Office of Procurement Services
E-mail: kelly.sanders@das.ohio.gov 
Representing: NASPO 
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 2016 - 2018

Rick Hughes, CPPO
Deputy Assistant Director
ADOA - State Procurement Office, State of Arizona
E-mail: rick.hughes@azdoa.gov 
Representing: NASPO 
Serving 3rd Term as a Member: 2018 - 2020

Jack Adger, CPPO, CPPB
Assistant Director of Purchasing
Denton County Purchasing 
E-mail: jack.adger@dentoncounty.com
Representing: NIGP
Serving 1st Term as a Member: 7/2017 - 2019

Vacant
UPPCC Governing Board Director 

Advisory Non-Voting Members

Marcheta Gillespie, CPPO, CPPB, C.P.M., CPM
Retired
Formerly: Director of Procurement, City of Tucson
E-mail: marcheta.gillespie@gmail.com
Serving as an Advisory Member Since: 7/2018

Clifford McCue, Ph.D. 
Associate Director 
Public Procurement Research Center-Florida Atlantic University
E-mail: cmccue143@gmail.com
Serving as an Advisory Member Since: 5/2017

John Fowler, Ph.D. 
Professor 
Arizona State University
E-mail: john.fowler@asu.edu
Serving as an Advisory Member Since: 2/2018

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members

Rick Grimm, CPPO, CPPB
Chief Executive Officer
National Institute of Governmental Purchasing, Inc.
E-mail: rgrimm@nigp.org 
Representing: NIGP

Lindle Hatton, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
National Association of State Procurement Officials
E-mail: lhatton@naspo.org  
Representing: NASPO